Four seats, one price list
The 56th Annual Estate Planning Seminar runs Friday 29 January 2027 at the Oregon Convention Center, in Portland Ballroom on Level 2. Registration opens at 7:30 AM. Opening remarks start at 8 AM, the first speaker at 8:15 AM and sessions conclude at 5 PM. A reception follows to 6 PM.
The seminar publishes two registration bands. Early bird registration before 8 January 2027 costs $425 for a non-member. Regular registration costs $475 after that date. Four non-member seats cost $1,700 before 8 January and $1,900 after.
The member rate sits behind a code
Members pay $325 before 8 January and $375 after. The registration form carries an access-code box for EPC members, board and committee members, sponsors and speakers. The member price appears as a selectable option once the code is entered.
Annual membership dues are $250. The council lists four complimentary mini-seminars, complimentary registration for the Annual Dinner Meeting and reduced registration fees for the Annual Seminar inside those dues.
One member seat saves $100 against the non-member early bird rate. A firm needs three member seats on this single ticket to clear the dues on price alone.
The membership page does not state whether one $250 payment covers one professional or a whole firm. Ask the council before counting any saving. The dues also buy the mini-seminars and the dinner across a year, which changes the arithmetic.
Two published exits and one unstated path
The cancellation policy returns tuition less a $50 processing fee. The condition is written notice received and acknowledged by email before 5 PM Pacific on Friday 8 January 2027. Sponsorships and materials never refund.
Transfer is the second exit. The registration page states that seminar registration may be transferred until the day of the seminar. The FAQ adds that the transfer costs nothing and runs by email to the events team.
The FAQ names a third path. A registrant can switch to Digital Download with no attendance and avoid the cancellation fee. The FAQ does not state what happens to the tuition difference on that switch. Get that answer in writing before 8 January 2027.
The materials bill is separate
A digital binder comes with every full registration and arrives by email the Monday before the seminar. A printed binder costs $100 with registration, or $103.50 at checkout after the processing fee. Materials not claimed by 3 PM on the day go to recycling or resale, and no refund follows.
A registrant who cannot attend can buy the printed binder alone for $130, or $134.55 with the fee, and take delivery by mail. Recordings cost $475 alone, or $491.63 with the fee. Recordings come free with a full registration and arrive two to eight weeks after the event. No livestream exists.
The hotel publishes no rate
The FAQ names The Heathman Hotel at 1001 SW Broadway as the official seminar hotel and puts the property about 1.5 miles from the convention center. The Red and Blue MAX lines connect through Pioneer Courthouse Square, a three-block walk from the hotel door.
The rate appears on no page. The FAQ promises a link and a rate that are coming soon. The registration page repeats the same phrase.
The registration footer carries a booking link into the Heathman reservations engine with group code 6149575, one night and a check-in date of 30 January 2025. The engine answers "Group is not available." for that code on the 2025 date and again on a 29 January 2027 check-in. The page title reads "Details - ZZTO BE DELETED - Heathman Hotel".
What the firm can hold back
Before 8 January 2027 the firm commits tuition and holds a $50 exit cost per seat. Nothing else is committed. The materials bill is optional and refundless. The room carries no published price, so no room commitment exists to hold back.
Four rooms sit under the group threshold that most properties publish. The platform guidance reads that most hotels offer group rates for 10 or more rooms a night and some discount from as few as five rooms depending on season and availability. A four-person firm can still file a request. Submitting one is free and draws responses within 24 to 72 hours.
Three questions carry the leverage. Ask the council whether a seminar block exists and when the rate publishes. Ask the Heathman for the seminar rate in writing, with the dates and the cancellation term on the same page. Ask whether four rooms qualify for a group rate and what the release date is.
Dates to hold
January 8, 2027 carries four deadlines. The early bird price ends. The refund window closes at 5 PM Pacific. Printed binder orders stop. The networking directory opt-out closes.
Wednesday 27 January at 12 PM is the last clean registration. Registration stays open to the day of the event, and a later registration can mean a wait at the badge desk. All registration changes move on site after that hour.
January 29 is the seminar. Parking sits outside the tuition and the venue runs cashless.
The short version
Four seats cost $1,700 before 8 January 2027 and $1,900 after. A transfer stays free until the day of the seminar. A refund costs $50 until 5 PM Pacific on 8 January and stops after that hour. The official hotel names no rate, and the group code on the registration page books neither the date it carries nor the seminar date.
Book one conversation with the council and one with the property, and keep both answers in writing. Until the room rate publishes, the ticket is the only committed spend.